[cap-talk] google alerts phishing

John Carlson john.carlson3 at sbcglobal.net
Mon Dec 8 19:01:25 EST 2008


Here's is an email I got that I think is a valid google alert for  
comparison.  It looks like google is sending it.  I clicked on the  
link in the previous email 3 times and got different results each  
time.  Here is the included link.  Perhaps the link is designed to get  
google alerts by "copying" other links on the internet?  Not sure  
yet.  Here's the link again:

http://miami-saxony.molod.bee.pl/pyramid-electrical-generator.html

John
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: 935.emlx
Type: application/octet-stream
Size: 4120 bytes
Desc: not available
Url : http://www.eros-os.org/pipermail/cap-talk/attachments/20081208/7560f3bc/attachment.obj 
-------------- next part --------------

On Dec 8, 2008, at 9:42 AM, stay wrote:

> Please forward the email to me.
>
> On Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 9:20 AM, John Carlson
> <john.carlson3 at sbcglobal.net> wrote:
>> I received a phishing email that was very specific to me.  It  
>> appeared
>> to be from google alerts, and had my search term "extensible  
>> graphical
>> game generator" in it.  I don't know if someone has been through my
>> email, and found a similar email, or if google has been compromised.
>> I have concluded that I can't trust any emails any more.  It is also
>> possible that google actually found the site; I visited the site, and
>> that's not very likely.  I am a bit paranoid that this was directly
>> attacking my computer.
>>
>> John
>> _______________________________________________
>> cap-talk mailing list
>> cap-talk at mail.eros-os.org
>> http://www.eros-os.org/mailman/listinfo/cap-talk
>>
>
>
>
> -- 
> Mike Stay
> stay at google.com
> _______________________________________________
> cap-talk mailing list
> cap-talk at mail.eros-os.org
> http://www.eros-os.org/mailman/listinfo/cap-talk



More information about the cap-talk mailing list