[cap-talk] google alerts phishing

Monty Zukowski monty at codetransform.com
Mon Dec 8 19:34:46 EST 2008


Many of the google alerts for "Ivan Krstic" that I receive are spam
pages that have his name in with hundreds of other odd terms.  I
didn't even realize there was an abuse team to report these to.  Is
that a public email address?

Monty

On Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 4:08 PM, stay <stay at google.com> wrote:
> On Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 4:01 PM, John Carlson
> <john.carlson3 at sbcglobal.net> wrote:
>> Here's is an email I got that I think is a valid google alert for
>> comparison.  It looks like google is sending it.  I clicked on the link in
>> the previous email 3 times and got different results each time.  Here is the
>> included link.  Perhaps the link is designed to get google alerts by
>> "copying" other links on the internet?  Not sure yet.  Here's the link
>> again:
>>
>> http://miami-saxony.molod.bee.pl/pyramid-electrical-generator.html
>>
>> John
>>
>
> Turns out the alert is valid, though the page is spammy.  The spambot
> found this guy's page:
>  http://www.orwant.com/eggg.html
> and combined a bunch of phrases from it together with some other crap,
> apparently dynamically.  I'll forward the link to the abuse team.
> --
> Mike Stay
> stay at google.com
> _______________________________________________
> cap-talk mailing list
> cap-talk at mail.eros-os.org
> http://www.eros-os.org/mailman/listinfo/cap-talk
>


More information about the cap-talk mailing list